Skip Navigation LinksTrillium Health Partners > Volunteers > THP Volunteer Board > Volunteer Board Members

 Volunteer Board Members


Board Members – 2016-2017

Susan Larkin

Susan is a CPA, CA, MBA who has operated her own executive search firm for the past eighteen years specializing in finance and accounting.
Susan joined the board in 2010, starting as a Member at Large and then holding the positions of VP Leadership and Communications, followed by VP Engagement. This will be Susan’s third year as President.

Vice-President Volunteer Development & Engagement
Harvinder Matharu

This is Harvinder’s seventh year on the board. Harvinder is the Plant Manager – Canadian Operations for Valvoline Canada and has been a volunteer at Credit Valley Hospital in several areas including the ER and the Ronald McDonald Family Room. Harvinder previously oversaw the volunteer Rounding program.

Mehak Sethi

Mehak is a Chartered Accountant who is currently a Manager in advisory services at Deloitte LLP. Mehak is a new board member who has also volunteered with United Way and Habitat for Humanity..

Vice-President Strategic Planning
John McKenzie

John’s extensive Sales and Marketing background includes past positions at Stanley Tools and Moen Faucets. John is currently at Panasonic Canada.
John started as a volunteer in the Cancer Centre at Credit Valley Hospital. He later assumed the role of co-facilitator of the orientation program for new volunteers within the Cancer Centre. He has served on the board in his current role since 2006. Previous volunteer experience includes eight years of service with the Dufferin-Peel Catholic District Secondary School Board.

Recording Secretary
Ellen Lee

Ellen is a CPA, CA who has recently transitioned to staying home with her family.  Ellen worked almost twenty years in progressively senior finance and operational roles, spending twelve years at Morguard Corp, most recently as a Director, Operations & Reporting.  Ellen joined the board in 2012 in her current role. She has served on several not-for-profit boards and is currently the Secretary for St. John Ambulance – Peel Branch.

Director Fundraising & Event Management
Vinnie Young

Vinnie is a new board member overseeing the fundraising program of the board. Vinnie has more than ten years of experience in the not-for-profit and fundraising environment. Vinnie has a graduate degree in Public Accounting and has previously volunteered with Lighthouse for grieving children.

Director Volunteer Leadership
Sandra Pereira

Sandra is a CPA, CA and is currently VP Tax at Tricon Capital Group. Sandra joined the board in 2014; she has had two children volunteer at Credit Valley Hospital (her daughter volunteered for eight years prior to going to medical school and her son volunteered for nine years before entering medical school in Toronto). Sandra’s children were both born at Credit Valley Hospital and both her sister and her mother were nurses at Credit Valley Hospital. Sandra was also on the Board of Mentor College for seven years.

Director Marketing
Susan Black

Susan is a new board member overseeing Marketing for the board.  Susan has been in the technology sector for over twenty years in various sales/marketing management roles. She has been at Panasonic for thirteen years and is the Senior Director -B2B IT and Security Solutions at Panasonic Canada.  Susan grew up in Peel Region and is married with two children. She has previously volunteered with the Canadian Cancer Society and the Kidney Foundation.

Director Rounding
Salma Ahmed

Salma is a new board member overseeing the volunteer Rounding Program.  Salma is a Social Worker and currently works as the Supervisor of Direct Program with Toronto Employment and Social Services. She has over fifteen years of experience working in the public sector. Both of Salma’s children were born at Credit Valley Hospital.

General Members at Large

Rohit Singla
Rohit is a new board member and currently works as the Senior Finance Manager at Gilead Sciences Canada.  He holds his MBA and is also a certified management accountant. 

Liz Beemer
Liz joined the board in 2014. Liz has over twenty years of executive experience in the corporate sector and is and currently holds the position of SVP Country Division Head of Bayer Inc. Consumer Health Division.  Liz is an active member of the board supporting several fundraising initiatives.  Liz lives in Mississauga and both her daughters were born at Credit Valley Hospital.

Catherine Li
Catherine is a new board member.  Catherine graduated with a Bachelor of Commerce degree at Ryerson University and is designated as a Certified Human Resource Professional with the Human Resources Professional Association (HRPA).  Having worked within human resources in several industries including healthcare, manufacturing, travel and tourism, hospitality, and finance, she now specializes as an Employee Relations Consultant with Aon Hewitt which has a client base of 35,000+ employees across Canada.

Sachin Doshi
Sachin joined the board in 2015. Sachin is the Youth Representative on the Board – Credit Valley Hospital site. Sachin volunteered at Credit Valley Hospital for five years and in various roles, most recently as a Youth Team Leader. Currently, Sachin is a student in the MD Program at the University of Toronto, which is closely affiliated with the teaching programs at Trillium Health Partners.

Andriy Katyukha
Andriy has been an active volunteer at Trillium Health Partners for over five years. He is a Youth Team Leader at the Mississauga Hospital and joined the board as a Youth Representative in 2015. He is currently attending Western University, where he is enrolled in the Medical Sciences program. Andriy is passionate about student government and medical research, and is a student researcher at Princess Margaret Cancer Centre. He hopes to pursue a career in medicine in the future. In addition to his role at THP, he also serves as Vice Chair of the Board of Directors of the University Students’ Council at Western University.


Volunteer Partners Board Members, left to right:
back row: Vinnie Young, Mehak Sethi, Deb Folkes, Sachin Doshi, Andriy Katyukha, Salma Ahmed
front row: Ellen Lee, Sandra Pereira, Susan Larkin, John McKenzie, Harvinder Matharu
(missing: Rohit Singla, Catherine Li, Liz Beemer, Susan Black).